cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to take advantage of multiple travel cards’ points?

tag
drave199
Established Member

How to take advantage of multiple travel cards’ points?

Maybe this has been asked before but I am pretty new to travel cards and points. I was thinking, hypothetically if you had multiple travel cards and used them often or got multiple sign up bonus’s, is there a way to use all those points for the same thing, like a vacation? I assume there is so my question really is how? I don’t expect anyone to go into to much detail but I’m guessing you would find a place to transfer all the points to the same place?

The reason I ask is because I got a prequalified offer for csp with a 50k bonus offer which is probably normal but made me think. I just got the Amex gold so I probably won’t do it but good info to have in the future. Thanks!
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
UpperNwGuy
Valued Contributor

Re: How to take advantage of multiple travel cards’ points?

If you spread your spending across multiple credit card rewards systems (UR, MR, TYP, other bank points, airline miles, hotel points, etc), you will be a mile wide and an inch deep, and it will take you a long time to redeem.  

Your best bet is to pair bank points with the airline miles to which they can be transferred.  For example, pair Chase UR with United miles or Amex Platinum and Gold with Delta miles.

In some cases you can transfer from multiple bank points systems to a single airline's frequent flyer program.  I'm thinking of Jet Blue, Air France, KLM, and British Airways.

Notice the absence of American Airlines from any of these combos....

Daily Carry: PenFed Power Cash • NFCU Flagship • NFCU More Rewards • Chase Freedom
Sock Drawer: PenFed Promise • NFCU cashRewards • Chase Sapphire Preferred • Chase Freedom Unlimited • United Explorer • UNFCU Azure
Message 2 of 6
xaximus
Valued Contributor

@UpperNwGuy wrote: