cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Minimum Opening Deposit for Discover IT Card for Students & Chase Freedom Card?

tag
bookswombook
New Visitor

Minimum Opening Deposit for Discover IT Card for Students & Chase Freedom Card?

Hi,

I am a college student and I was wondering if there was an opening deposit for the Discover IT card for Students and the Chase Freedom card? My current credit score, according to Credit Karma, is 649, with student loans. I have been looking everywhere and can't get an answer.

Sorry if this is a stupid question; I just need to know before I apply, because I want to make sure I have the money first.

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
IcEWoLF
Frequent Contributor

Re: Minimum Opening Deposit for Discover IT Card for Students & Chase Freedom Card?

@bookswombook wrote:

Hi,

I am a college student and I was wondering if there was an opening deposit for the Discover IT card for Students and the Chase Freedom card? My current credit score, according to Credit Karma, is 649, with student loans. I have been looking everywhere and can't get an answer.

Sorry if this is a stupid question; I just need to know before I apply, because I want to make sure I have the money first.

Hi there, first of all welcome to the forums!

To answer your question, Discover IT and Chase Freedom are unsecured cards, so you don't need to put a deposit to get them.

Discover IT is nice, but the problem is, it's a Discover card and a lot of merchants may not accept Discover, where Visa is pretty much accepted everywhere.

I've been hearing both companies have been very generous as of late. Smiley Happy

Apply without fear Smiley Happy

EQ: 768 TU: 769 EXP: 805
Ritz Carlton: 18k
CSP: 7K | Chase Freedom: 5.7K
MERRILL+® VS: 9K | BOA AMEX: 1K