cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Card application during temporary score boost?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

New Card application during temporary score boost?

This is my first time posting so please let me know if I miss important background info.

I recently consolodated my credit card debt (15k) into a discover personal loan and noticed today that the payoffs to all of my cards have posted on my report. The personal loan is not showing up yet, resulting in a credit score boost to 760. Long story short I have a plan to pay off the personal loan in 2 years and would like a card to put my daily expenses on and PIF each month than earns decent cash back or rewards. Should I use this temporary score boost to apply for a new rewards card? My existing cards all have some rewards, but it seems like the BofA Cash rewards card would be more beneficial. 

My current cards include:

Discover IT 17.99%, $6,500 limit

PNC Points 15.99%,  $8,000 limit

Capital One QuickSilver 22.24%, $2,250 limit

3 department store cards that I am just keeping open for perks and credit age.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
Priory_Man
Valued Contributor

Re: New Card application during temporary score boost?

TBH, No.
I would pick one of the 3 cards you have that has the most benefit to you and use it. Or PC one of them into a more beneficial card.
If you app for a new card you are going to ping your score with a hard pull, drop your AAoA and then the loan will hit dropping you again.

"Total revolving credit $286,000 Current UTIL >1%"
Message 2 of 12
HeavenOhio
Senior Contributor

Welcome, @Anonymous. Smiley Happy

From the perspective of your credit report, scores, and optimization of rewards, I think it definitely makes sense to apply for a card. The more important part is budgetary. You definitely want to follow through on your commitment to pay in full.

Message 3 of 12
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous wrote: