Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Now the tricky part

tag
scarfa21
Frequent Contributor

Now the tricky part

Thanks for taking the time to look.

I was just approved for 3 new credit cards.  roughly 10k spread between all of them.

I currently have 3 other cards that carry yearly fees.  Going to cancel those as the limits are no where near 10k combined, so my credit to debt ratio shouldent take a hit.  All have 0 balances anyways.

My question is.  With my 3 new cards, what is the best way to handle them to get the best out of my score?  Should i use all 3 a month and pay off, or only use one a pay it off.etc...  Im new to this good credit thing, so any help is appriciated Smiley Happy

Thanks

kevin

Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Now the tricky part

What bank are the other three cards? and CLs?

Message 2 of 12
scarfa21
Frequent Contributor

ohh sorry, forgot that part lol

Credit one - 700 limit

Capitol one -1600 limit

Verve - 600 limit

Message 3 of 12
Anonymous
Not applicable

@scarfa21 wrote:

Credit one - 700 limit

Capitol one -1600 limit

Verve - 600 limit

No worries - which cards did you get approve for?

Message 4 of 12
HeavenOhio
Senior Contributor

In general, banks report the card's statement balance on the statement date. FICO likes to see a small balance on less than half of your cards with the rest reporting zero. In your case, that would mean a small positive balance on one card (between $5 and 8.9% of its limit) with the other two reporting zero.

Use the cards as much as you'd like. If necessary, make mid-cycle payments to free up your credit limit. Before the statement cuts, pay the balances on two card to zero, and pay the other down to a small balance. After the statement cuts, pay the statement balance on that card in full. That way, you'll avoid interest.