cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Overcoming a Thin File?

tag
fairytale

Overcoming a Thin File?

Hello, I'm quite new to all this (even though I'm 25).

I've never opened up any form of credit card, loan, etc. before so my files are considered thin/nonexistent. This has left me in an incredibily frustrating situation of being denied for nearly every card I've applied for.

I first started small and applied for the suggested cards to establish/rebuild credit. Capital One's secured denied me instantly, BOA was also instantly denied, even my own local bank denied me for their secured card.

I then figured, "What the heck? Let's try applying for some unsecured ones since I have no history anyway..."

BOA Americard: Denied

Amex Green: Denied

Chase Freedom: Pending (30-days, doubt I have a chance)

Discover IT: Approved!

I was not expecting this at all, I was approved with a CL of $1,000 after phoning in to their main number and sent over to their higher departments for review. I'm so happy Discover is willing to take a chance on someone that has no history on an unsecured card! (I initially applied figuring they'd send me an offer for their secured one if I was denied anyway).

UPDATE:

Chase & TD were both approved after a recon.

UPDATE 2:

It's been 6 months, I've finally established enough credit to get auto approvals when I tried applying today!

Message 1 of 24
23 REPLIES 23
grinlikechelsea
Established Contributor

Re: Overcoming a Thin File?

You've got a card now, so do not apply for anymore credit. Baby that card and use it enough to report a small balance (you can pay off some before it reports) and pay it in full. Do that for about a year, and you should be able to have another prime card if you would like.

Also call Chase's recon line! Another person got the Freedom as his first CC, so it is worth a shot, especially if you already have a relationship with Chase!

Message 2 of 24
Twas_Sovereign
New Contributor