cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

To apply or not to apply...that is the question.

tag
GeneralCucumbre
Regular Contributor

To apply or not to apply...that is the question.

So, I am fairly new to these forums and since April of this year I have gone on what many of you would call an "app spree" (I am still learning terminology).  I have been building credit now since June of 2007 (so for 5 years now...I am 23 years old).  Since this past April, I have applied for and opened all of the following accounts:

• April 2012-Chase Sapphire Visa Signature ($10,300 CL)
  • April 2012-Citi AAdvantage World MasterCard ($4,000 CL) (Considering closing due to AF)
  • May 2012-American Express Green Card (CLOSED two weeks later after realizing AF...was also backdated to 2009 due to previous AMEX account)
  • June 2012-USAA World MasterCard ($6,000 CL)

Now, I am considering to apply for a Discover More Card (I was a previous cardmember back in 2009 but I closed it because it had a low credit limit and rather high APR).  Part of me wants to apply, but the other part says to go into "the garden".

My open accounts picture currently looks like this (older accounts listed first):

• Opened June 2007-Chase Slate MasterCard ($1,000 CL) - (Then, it was a Chase Platinum MasterCard)
  • Opened Nov. 2008-Toyota Rewards Visa ($2,300 CL)
  • Opened May 2009-American Express Green Card (CLOSED...but still showing as open on my reports)
  • Opened Dec. 2009-Amazon.com Store Card ($3,800 CL)
  • Opened April 2010-Newegg.com Store Card ($6,400 CL) - (I know this doesn't report to the bureaus...just threw it in anyway)
  • Opened April 2011-Citi Dividend Visa Signature ($7,000 CL)
  • Opened Dec. 2011-BestBuy Store Card ($1,850 CL)
  • Opened April 2012-Chase Sapphire Visa Signature ($10,300 CL)
  • Opened April 2012-Citi AAdvantage World MasterCard ($4,000 CL)
  • Opened June 2012-USAA World MasterCard ($6,000 CL)