cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Will it be a problem if I don't use a credit card for a long time?

tag
jackff
Established Member

Will it be a problem if I don't use a credit card for a long time?

I currently have too many cards and it's hard to take care of all of them. I am a student and have low spending. Plus my college offers me meal plans in our dining halls, there are few chances for me to swipe my credit cards. Here are the four cards which I don't want to close because they don't have annual fee:

1. Amex blue cash everyday (there are few places accepting amex nearby)

2. Discover it (only use it for one quarter per year)

3. Chase freedom (same as Discover it)

4. Barclay Arrival fee free version (only use it abroad for its no foreign trans fee benefit)

Is it okay to put a credit card in my drawer and no using it for a long time? Will it be closed by the company? Or any possible troubles?

Thanks in advance.

Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
youngandcreditwrthy
Senior Contributor

Re: Will it be a problem if I don't use a credit card for a long time?

I would use them lightly and pif before the statement cuts each month. Or at the very least, use them a little every few months on a rotation to avoid any type of closure and to stay under the radar.

If you just completely sock drawer the, they eventually will get closed because they become a "non performing asset" to the extending bank.

Marriott PR$25k | BCE $24.5K |BankAmericard Visa $25k| BOA Better Bal $17.5k |Wmt Discover $12.5k | BR Visa $17.5k | Amex Delta Gold $10k | Discover IT $10k | Paypal Extras MC $15k | Amazon Store $10k|Smile Gen $7.25k | Dillard's $10k | West Elm $4k| Express $3.05K | Mypoints.com Visa $4.5k | Freedom Visa $1k| Amex Surpass $1k
Message 2 of 11
jackff
Established Member

@youngandcreditwrthy wrote: