Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

0% Credit Utilization

tag
Zabathan
New Visitor

0% Credit Utilization

I'm new to MyFICO, and am still learning my way around managing my FICO score.  I've heard that having a credit utilization percentage of 0 is seen as a negative; is that true?  If so, what's the best way you all have found to consistantly have a balance on a card without paying interest?

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
grinlikechelsea
Established Contributor

Re: 0% Credit Utilization

Yes, 0% utili does negatively affect your FICO score.

The way I have manageable balances report is I pay all of my balances on a few cards off while leaving a balance of one or two cards that autopays in full after the statement cuts. That way, I always have 1-9% utilization reporting. Smiley Happy

Message 2 of 10
-Wade-
Valued Contributor

@grinlikechelsea wrote:

The way I have manageable balances report is I pay all of my balances on a few cards off while leaving a balance of one or two cards that autopays in full after the statement cuts. That way, I always have 1-9% utilization reporting. Smiley Happy

If it does it can't be much. I have only a very small bal of $40  on 1 card and my scores are the highest they have ever been. I just started getting my Discover Fico score 2 months ago, so i have not had time to play with my utilization yet.

"Garden Club Member " Old user name newportguy*** Current Score: myFico EQ - 830 (07/16/2015) Discover TU Fico - 833 (09/03/2016) EX Fico - 839 ( 09/01/2016 ) ******* Amex - BCP 11.5K * Discover - IT 43.5 K * U.S. Bank Cash + Visa Signature 15.3 K * PenFed - Cash Rewards 15K *PenFed Power Cash 19K ** Amex - GDSM 10K ******FICO 800 Club Member ******* EQ 830 *** TU 833 *** EX 839 ***
****** Last HP & New TL was March 6th 2014 *** GOAL: No HP's or New TL's for 2 + years and 840's Scores ******
Message 3 of 10
gdale6
Moderator Emeritus