Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Collection posted AFTER payment

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Collection posted AFTER payment

Hello everyone! I need some help. I'm new to the US, and I've got a two-year credit history, trying to do it as best as I can.

I just got my credit report from Equifax, and it appears a collection filed by CAINE & WEINER on April 29, 2017. The original creditor was Progressive Insurance.

It was for an amount of $264.

They contacted me on January 2017, before they put the collection, so I made an arrangement and paid them in three installments, two for $92.00, and one final of $94.80, totalling $278.80 (collection plus processing fees).

Now, I paid that account on January and February 2017, but they reported the collection AFTER I payed the entire amount due, on April 2017.

Can they report an account that was paid in full AFTER the payment was complete? How can I dispute this? Do I contact them, or do I go directly thru the CBs? I've got my statements stating the amounts and the dates of each payment.

This is my only collection, my credit score is in the 700s, but I can't get anything because of this. It was reported to Equifax and Transunion, not to Experian.

Thanks!

Jaime Q.

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Collection posted AFTER payment

I would talk to an consumer attorney.     It may be time to play violations for $1,000 alex.  If it was pof before it was reported I think it sounds like a violation. If it's a violation they will be on the hook for  for your attotney fees, their attorney fees and the settlement usually $1,000

Message 2 of 8
JVille
Valued Contributor

Who did you make the payment arrangements with? Progressive or the Collection Agency?
Message 3 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Directly with the CA.

Message 4 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable