cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Collections Situation, What Should I Do?

ejoshmo
Established Member

Collections Situation, What Should I Do?

Hello All,

Thanks for any help or advice you can give me.  In 2004 I received a private education loan for something like $7,000.  I graduated from college in 2008 and immediately  tried to contact the company to start repaying the loan.  They adivsed me that I defaulted on the loan in October of 2006, and it was in collections.  I was shocked, because the loan was in deferment at the time.  When I asked why, they claimed that my cosigner (my mother) claimed bankruptcy, which defaulted the loan.  My parents never told me this, but when I called and asked them they told me it was true and that they had no idea my loan was affected.  Upon calling the CA I found out that my parent's bankruptcy was paying on the loan (about $100 per month), but I would be responsible for the balance after the bankruptcy was over.  My dad called me and said they just finished paying their last bankruptcy payment last month, so now it is time for me to contact this CA again.

I just want to do this the right way, since the CA has not posted the collection on any of my CRs.  The only thing that shows up on my CR is the original loan from the OC, which is listed as a defaulted education loan.  In my research I have found others say that after the 7-7.5 year mark after the DOFD it may be pointless to pay on the collection anymore.  Is this true?  should I contact to CA or just wait to see if they contact me since it will be 7 years in october of 2013? If I should contact them, is there anything I should do or keep in mind?  Is there anything I can do to keep the CA from reporting the collection on my CR and destroying my credit even more?  Thanks again!

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

eudRe: Collections Situation, What Should I Do?