cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit newbie building credit with Secured Cards...looking for advice to obtain future loan

tag
b0yinterrupted
Valued Member

Credit newbie building credit with Secured Cards...looking for advice to obtain future loan

Hey all. I'm new to credit at 39 years old. Could never get approved for credit cards my whole life, but never really needed them. I never realized how important credit might be down the road. I will inherit my current home in the future and one day I asked myself how would I pay to remodel as I plan on keeping it. The place could use a little updating. I live with an older (66 year old) friend who is leaving it to me. Started reading about loans and credit here and on reddit. I've learned a lot so far.

I read that lenders like to see 5 lines of credit and I ended up opening 4 secured cards:

Discover: $200 Capital One: $250 Citi: $300 UsBank: $300

Maybe I was a little overzealous as my Vanatage Scores dropped significantly once they all reported. I understand they don't matter too much and FICO scores are what lenders use. I have about 4 months until I generate a FICO score.

My goals are:

Graduate all cards and keep them forever no matter what

Generate an acceptable FICO score within 2 years

Get a personal loan around $15,000 in the 3rd year to start remodeling. Should be plenty to start and future needs I would get a home equity loan when I actually own it.

What I'd like to know is will these 4 lines of credit with an exceptional 2 year payment history and low utilization doing a rotaing AZEO be enough to get me a loan? 

My income varies but it's on the lower end let's say $25,000. Don't judge I'm perfectly content, have everything I need and I obviously don't live beyond my means. 

Should I get a 5th card (unsecured) after my current cards age 1 year?

If yes what cards do you recommend that I'd be eligible for with my income and history?