cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EXPERTS: I need your help deciding to accept or decline a pre-approved loan offer!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

EXPERTS: I need your help deciding to accept or decline a pre-approved loan offer!

Ok so yesterday I recieved one of those pre-approved for an additional $3700 to your personal loan letters from HSBC. I am in Canada, and last year i obtained a $5000 personal loan with HSBC, the APR was a ridiculous 29%, due to my limited knowledge of managing credit the loan officer at HSBC told me my credit score was 629 so thats why I got that rate. Anyways I obtained the loan and committed to a $355 monthly payment. Its down to just below $3000 now but I plan to pay it off in the next 3 months as I am clearing up my credit for an auto purchase within the next 3 months too.

Some important points:

I have a mastercard, $1000 limit with 0 balance

FICO is 670 as of DEC 2011. I will be checking again this month to see if the new 0 balance on my mastercard has boosted my FICO, the card was maxed before

I have a student loan, just under $10000 and i pay $120 monthly

Those are the three main items on my CR, all other accounts have been paid off and some old accounts I closed after paying off. Other accounts are just utilities like cable and cellphone, all those are up to date with 0 balance.

I look forward to making an auto purchase for 30k - 35k, my budget for the auto is $700 monthly thats exactly 20% of my net monthly, also I am looking to go no higher than 8% APR. I am hoping if I can payoff the $3000 at HSBC AND KEEP THE 0 - 10% utilization on the mastercard then my score may go up closer to the 700 goal?

The big question?