Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with Equifax Report Problem

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Help with Equifax Report Problem

I have a problem with my Equifax report, which I discovered a couple months ago and I've been trying to fix, but I cannot figure out what to do. Any advice for what I could try would be really appreciated. So here is my problem:

I'm an international PhD student here and I've had a Discover card for 10 months now reporting to all bureaus. Recently I figured out that I couldn't access only my Equifax report or credit score from any place so I called them to see what the problem is and they asked me to fax them my social security card and driver's license to verify my information. I did that and they opened a dispute for me. It turns out they have everything correct on my file, BUT for my SSN. They claim it is a worker's ID, which I have no idea what it is and I cannot figure anything out by googling it. The SSN field is empty on the report and the actual SSN appears as an additional identification (how secure is it that the whole SSN appears on the report?), so my report cannot be accessed from any third party places. In order to change it they want me to send over my W-2 form, but for 2015 I only had a 1042-S form for my taxes(I think because of the way I got paid from my university) and that is not good enough for them. Then they told me to ask Discover to report my SSN along with the rest of the information to update it, but Discover cannot send my SSN to them for security purposes. So, now I'm stuck and I don't know what to do next. Have you heard of anything similar or do you have any advice for what to do?

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
Revelate
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Help with Equifax Report Problem

I don't think you have a lot of choice but to continue working with Equifax.