Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie in need of help concerning 23 year old debt

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Newbie in need of help concerning 23 year old debt

Hi.  I am new to all of this.  Since the building I live in is going co-op and I really want to buy into it when it happens I started checking my credit reports for the first time in my life.  I never thought about it before.  I have to start paying off my credit cards and start getting my scores up.  They're not good. 

What I really need help with is a debt that is 23 years old.  It doesn't appear on any credit report, but a collection agency did a check of my credit.  I found out about it by checking my free annual credit report.  The agency is Midland and they did a check in July fo 2007.

I think I might have opened a can of worms for myself.  I didn't know about this site or that I could get the help from other people.  I called Midland not realizing that it was a collection agency and they told me that it was for a debt from 23 years ago.  They sold it to an agency called Recovery ...

Midland gave me the phone number and I think I did a stupid thing.  I called them.  They tried to get me to pay it.  It was for a Citibank account - they said something similar to a fingerhut account.  I told them I didn't know anything about it.  It couldn't be mine and I disputed it.  They still tried to get me to pay something.  I told them that I never heard anything.  No one ever called or sent letters.

I also told them that I wanted proof that it was my debt.  They said that they would look into it and I would hear from them -- that they would send me a letter.  When I get the letter should I respond or ignore it?  Should I DV?  What should I do?