Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Opening a Chase Checking Account - Non US Citizen

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Opening a Chase Checking Account - Non US Citizen

I have a coupon for $150 for opening a chase checking account setup with direct deposit. There's no Chase branches in my area so I went online to setup an account. On the first page of the application it asks if all applicants are US citizens. I'm a permanent resident but hold British citizenship so I clicked no and it says that non citizen applications cannot be done online and that non residents should apply on the international site.

The thing is i'm not a non resident i'm a permanent resident but not a US citizen. I read the fine print at the bottom to see if they group permanent residents with US citizens but all the fine print says is: "You must be a U.S. citizen with a U.S. postal address and valid Social Security Number to open an account online. Non resident aliens or U.S. citizens residing outside of the U.S. should refer to the International Banking site." I would go to a local branch but living in Massachusetts there is none. Have any permanent residents applied before or does anybody have any suggestions?

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Opening a Chase Checking Account - Non US Citizen

Sent an email explaining how I live in Massachusetts and so there is no branches near me, and asked if there was a way to apply as a permanent resident I recieved this reply: Dear _________,

Thank you for contacting Chase. My name is _________ and
I will be glad to assist you. We value you as a customer
and want your Chase experience to be easy and satisfying
as possible.

I apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced
opening your account online, and I understand your
concern.

At this time, to open an account online customer must be a
U.S. citizen. Otherwise, the only way to open an account
is though a Chase branch.