cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Paying Off Collection Accounts

tag
dac90

Paying Off Collection Accounts

I have been working on my credit for a couple years now and was finally starting to make some progress.  Two questions-

1.  I have two credit card debts ($6K and $9K) that were charged off by the original creditors and have been moving from collection agency to collection agency.  They are 5 years old.  Is it worth trying to settle these collections?  Everytime it changes hands, it looks like a new debt.  If a collection agency tries to sue, will that show on my credit, or is it only judgments that show up?

2. I had some pretty major medical expenses last year.  I now have multiple new collection accounts from the hospital's collection agency and my score has plummeted.  If I pay them, will they come off my credit report?  Can I ask for them to be removed(upon payment)?  What is the best approach for these new debts?

Thanks for your help!

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
Anonymous
Not applicable

1) You'll probably be playing whack-a-mole with collectio...

1) You'll probably be playing whack-a-mole with collection agencies for a while. Whether or not they can sue depends on your state and its applicable statute of limitations. (This gets fairly complicated if you've changed states since the account charged off.) Be sure to look up what your state's statute of limitations are and avoid getting a judgment on yourself any way possible (in many states they are renewable and therefore will appear on your credit a lot longer than the original debt could).

Suits don't show up on credit reports; judgments do.

Also, given the amount and the age of these tradelines, does the original creditor still own them or have they been sold to a distressed debt purchaser (sometimes called a "junk debt buyer" or "JDB" )?