Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Somewhat simple credit questions

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Somewhat simple credit questions

Hello, I am new to credit and I have several questions, which seems pretty easy but I could not find a satisfying answer yet even after doing lots of research.

Regarding the credit utilization ratio (and its famous 30% "upper bound"), I can't really figure out how it is really computed :
Let's use a short example : if during one cycle I do the following (with a 1000$ total credit line) :

- 200$ purchase

- full payment

- another 100$ payment

- full payment

- CLOSING DATE

Is my total credit utilization 20% ? (like the maximum credit line I used over the cycle), or 30% (sum of expeanses over credit line available) ?
If I now decide to make the second full payment (of 100$) after the closing date, will my ratio would then be 10% or 30% ?

- Also, if I pay before the end of the cycle (so I will then have a zero balance and no payment due), does that mean I have a 0% credit utilization ratio ?

Finally, with the intent of wanting to maximize my credit score increase at each cycle, it is smarter to pay in full before the end of the cycle/closing date or to wait and pay between the closing date and the payment date ? I had both answers and I am a bit confused now.

Thanks in advance for your help! 

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
sarge12
Senior Contributor

Re: Somewhat simple credit questions

@Anonymous wrote:

Hello, I am new to credit and I have several questions, which seems pretty easy but I could not find a satisfying answer yet even after doing lots of research.

Regarding the credit utilization ratio (and its famous 30% "upper bound"), I can't really figure out how it is really computed :
Let's use a short example : if during one cycle I do the following (with a 1000$ total credit line) :

- 200$ purchase

- full payment

- another 100$ payment

- full payment

- CLOSING DATE