cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What Happens When Account is Deleted from Credit Report?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

What Happens When Account is Deleted from Credit Report?

I'm a newbie with the whole credit report system. Really. I was added as an authorized user to my parent's credit card, but then decided to be removed (even though my parent was not delinquent or anything). It wasn't helping my credit score and I didn't want to deal with it.

I would like that account to be erased from my three credit reports. The bank said they would notify the credit bureaus that I was removed, and said that the credit bureaus should remove the info off my credit report.

So, what will that look like? Will it show that I once had a credit card, but then the account was deleted? Or will it be like it never happened? In other words, will this incident of two weeks of me being an authorized user be recorded in my credit report history as those two weeks, or will it just disappear?

My other accounts show a monthly history on my credit report...I really wouldn't like there to be a notice that for such and such month, I had a credit card (was an authorized user) and then that was deleted. I would just like for it to be gone altogether.

Thanks for being nice! I'm so new to this.

Message 1 of 14
13 REPLIES 13
taxi818
Super Contributor

Re: What Happens When Account is Deleted from Credit Report?

If it is deleted. it will be nothing there. which will hurt you in long run. in fact. no one knows. when . but fico 8 does not count in many cases. the au. so it does not matter. just take your time and build you own file. but it sure would have been nice to piggyback to get your start. then after some while get removed. there is nothing wrong with being a Authorized user.
just like nothing wrong with inheritance.Smiley Happy
Message 2 of 14
ezdoesit
Valued Contributor

Hopefully it was a Amex that you were a AU on that way it would set your MSD.