Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Conventional or FHA?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Conventional or FHA?

Hey there, I've got a few questions on whether a conventional or FHA loan would better suit me. I apologize if some of this may be basic knowledge/info, as I am totally new to this side of things.

My wife and I are planning to apply for a mortgage soon(ish). We are first time home buyers, but if I am understanding the articles that I find online, a conventional loan would better suit us.

A few bits of information that I'd read online (I know, don't trust everything online, which is why I'm asking on here... online. Makes sense, right?)

FHA:

Available to those with lower credit scores (500-550ish)

3.5% down payment required

Down payment can be 100% paid via gifted funds

PMI does not automatically drop from loan, need to refinance to remove PMI

Higher PMI rate than conventional

Conventional:

Slightly higher credit score requirements to be considered (usually 640ish)

3% down payment required

Down payment can be 100% paid via gifted funds

PMI drops automatically at 78% LTV

Lower PMI rate than FHA

If some of the above information is incorrect, please correct me, as I am trying to make the most informed decision possible.

My wife and I are looking to get into a house, in order to start "investing" with our housing payments, as opposed to paying similar figures in rent to an apartment.

I understand the mortgage scores have a slight variation from the traditional 08 scores that are commonly used today. I will list our scores that I had obtained for free via Discover statements and Discover CreditScorecard yesterday. We do not have any derogatory information on CBRs.

My scores

TU 08 - 759

Exp 08 - 761

Wife's scores

TU 08 - 784

Exp 08 - 778