Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

First time buyer down payment questions

tag
cf2701
Regular Contributor

First time buyer down payment questions

I am looking to buy in the spring. First time for me, so I'm a noob. Assistance is much appreciated!

I have good income, about $115k, plus income from my girlfriend could be used possibly.

I did file CH13 but that conepleted with no lates but that will fall off my reports with early exclusion by Dec/Jan hopefully.

I'm not sure I can save enough for a down payment in time, even at 3% of around $285k. 

How uncommon are mortgages with no money down and rolling the closing cost into the loan? 

Scored are all around 700 and only about 4% debt. 

Exceptional work history. Same job 15 years.

I'm really hoping to make this work and would love feedback! Thanks again! 

BBVA Clearpoints $16,000 | Discover $13,900 | CECU Visa $10,000 | NFCU Go Rewards Visa Sig. $18,500 | NFCU CLOC $15,000 | PayPal CB MC $10,000 | Paypal Credit $10,000 | Card $7,500 | AMX Hilton Honors Ascend $2,000 | Wayfair $23,900 | Sportsmans Guide Visa $12,400 | Kohls $3,000 | Capital One Savor One $3,500 | PNC Cash Rewards $17,000 | PenFed Power Cash Rewards $10,000 | PenFed Gold $10,000 | Lowe's $20,000 | Best Buy Visa $4,000 | Home Depot $4,000 | NFCU Platinum $25,000
Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
JVille
Valued Contributor

Re: First time buyer down payment questions

I hate to ask but home buying is an exception to "my" rule. 15 yrs on the Job???? What does your 401k allow in terms of borrowing for the purchase of a primary home. That could be your down. Another source is also the Bank of Mom & Dad or Grandma & Grandpa. I know that no one likes to ask but with rates at and below 3% these are exceptional times! 
Just thinking ....

Message 2 of 10
dragontears
Senior Contributor

@cf2701 wrote:

I am looking to buy in the spring. First time for me, so I'm a noob. Assistance is much appreciated!