Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Physician Mortgage - 15ARM?

tag
Samac
Regular Contributor

Physician Mortgage - 15ARM?

Hiya. 
I'm a 3rd year medical resident, my partner and I are looking at buying a home since we're staying in this town and the rent where I am is nearly doubling from 1066 to 1950 in November. I can't justify that for my old creaky apartment. 
Based on our base income currently, 330,000 is our 3x, we're looking at a max of 350,000. (We do both make more than this with him teaching extra classes and me moonlighting, but since that wasn't always guaranteed I didn't want to include it). 
My mortgage Fico score is >780. My fico 8 is >760. 
I'm looking at physician loan options, putting 5% down. No PMI. 
One offer has been a 15 year ARM/6 mo (30 year total) that today would be 4.75%, I'm looking at buying in the next month and it may go to 5% at max. I'm using 5% in my calculations for worst case scenerio. 

Is this a bad deal? Should I be looking for better interest rates? I can't really find physician mortgage interest rates online since they're so niche. 

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
DakotaM
Regular Contributor

Re: Physician Mortgage - 15ARM?

Your rate looks to be decent, especially keeping in mind that you are only putting 5% down and won't have PMI with it. How long is the rate going to be fixed for? With interest rates rising, once the adjustable rate part goes into effect, your payment will certainly go up some. Though if you are a third-year resident, I'm guessing you only have 2-3 more years of residency left and since you never know where you might end up,the adjustable rate part might not end up mattering that much. 

Workers-Credit-UnionWorkers-Credit-Union

Message 2 of 6
Samac
Regular Contributor

@DakotaM wrote: