cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

View from a Lender...Rates get lower suit ok to bail?

tag
mkm77
Regular Contributor

View from a Lender...Rates get lower suit ok to bail?

As a loan officer I wanted to get a little input....From time to time after a customer agrees to terms and locks their rate in, rates get slightly better. Rates are volatile currently so a rate on one day has a different rate/fee another. After I have been diligently working on a customers Mortgage for weeks,they demand the new lower rate or will switch lenders. This is often over only a.125% better rate. A lock is a mutual agreement from both parties that the rate is Guaranteed even obviously if rates go higher. They feel no obligation despite the work and expense of ordering credit reports, tax certs, flood certs, payoffs, etc. Im old school where someone's word means something so I don't get the usual wording of "just looking out for my family" line. Not over such a trivial amount. No Bank really negotiates over .125% improvement. If they did I woukd spend all day long chasing rates. When you hear "float down" again it's over a significant move. I think of it like hiring a mechanic to fix your car and then after work has already been done, you go with a new lower estimate leaving them high and dry. Thoughts? I'm sure there are some on here that only look at the numbers and nothing further...

Message 1 of 36
35 REPLIES 35
Sunshine85
Frequent Contributor

Re: View from a Lender...Rates get lower suit ok to bail?