cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Better to Retain Savings or Pay Off Half of Debt and Rebuild?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Better to Retain Savings or Pay Off Half of Debt and Rebuild?

I'm just not sure which is the most prudent course of action. I have $17k in consolidated credit card debt that I've been working diligently to pay off for the past three years (I started with $30k). I'm now roughly two years from completely paying this debt off. 

I have a small amount ($10k) of savings in a high-yield savings account. I could use that sum to pay off a little over half of the consolidation loan, thereby cutting the repayment time in half. And, once I'm done with the repayment, I'd have a lot more cash from my paycheck to contribute to rebuilding that savings. 

Of course, I could also incur an emergency, get hit with a serious illness, lose my job (I hope the likelihood of any of these is low, but who knows). Is it better to retain this small amount of savings and continue paying down the remainder of the debt slowly or to pay it off more quickly and rebuild the savings? 

Message 1 of 16
15 REPLIES 15
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Better to Retain Savings or Pay Off Half of Debt and Rebuild?

I would not deplete your savings just to pay down the loan.

That said, you can always accelerate the repayment by contributing more to the loan per month and slowing down your rate of savings contributions a bit.
Message 2 of 16
Anonymous
Not applicable

Makes sense. Thanks for your response.

Message 3 of 16
Penjamin_Fedington
Valued Member

Are you paying any interest on the credit card debt?  If so it may be better to deplete your savings account to save money in the long run.

Message 4 of 16
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Penjamin_Fedington wrote:

Are you paying any interest on the credit card debt?  If so it may be better to deplete your savings account to save money in the long run.