Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How I got out of being so average...

tag
Petit3tee
Contributor

How I got out of being so average...

Hi all, my name is Shara and I would like to share some of my financial experiences as a new member here with you all. I hope my story inspire some of you and even give you hope that better day is yet to come! 

My credit was never good, it's always right at fair/average. Right after I graduated with no job, I was stuck at finding an auto loan after my car was totaled from an accident. I had to put up a lot of down payment with high interest rates (12%) for a used car. I was also stuck getting approved for a credit card and had to go with a secured platinum card from Capital One with $300 SL - I'm so grateful I started off with that card.

It wasn't easy not having credit cards with good amout of CL. In 2013, I took my parents (they didn't have any credit cards) to SF for the first time, I pre-paid the hotel room upon booking but when checking in, they needed to put a few hundred dollars on a card for security purposes and of course, it's declined. Receptionist had to call maneger to approved my stay - what an embarassing moment. Anyway, I carry that card and my debit card for almost 4 years not knowing anything about credit scores but I never missed a single payment.