Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

IRA vs CD - which is right for me?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

IRA vs CD - which is right for me?

I am pretty new to understanding my finances so please bear with me. I am currently looking for ways other than my savings account to save money for the future. I am in a not so good situation at home and am trying to improve my credit and save money for a future home. Obviously this isn't an overnight thing and I am hoping to find something in the length of about 2-3 years (which I can later renew) as well as saving for retirement. I'm not sure which is better for me, an IRA or a CD? Is it possible to do both?

I'm also going to get more information on a 401(k) when I return to work this week.

Message Edited by tira on 07-20-2009 03:05 PM
Message 1 of 32
31 REPLIES 31
JoeBJay20
Established Contributor

Re: IRA vs CD - which is right for me?

If you're looking for a short term investment, then a CD is the way to go.  An IRA is for retirement, you can't withdraw from that account without a penalty until you are at least 59 1/2 years old except for very specific exceptions.  The IRA is a long term investment.  You definitely can (and should) do both, as there are limits as to how much you can contribute to an IRA on a yearly basis, and a balanced portfolio has a mix of short term and long term investments. 
Message 2 of 32
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thank you for your reply. I am checking out bankrate.com and the amounts needed to open a CD are higher than what I have available. The ones that I have enough to afford are lower rated and banks I'm not familiar with. Is starting out always this frustrating or is it just me?
Message 3 of 32
MarineVietVet
Moderator Emeritus

@Anonymous wrote: