Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Net Income question

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Net Income question

So my income is a little weird, I am unmarried with a domestic partner and two children. We claim several dependants on our weekly paychecks that allow us to pay next to nothing in federal / state tax. Due to tax credits, we receive a tax return each year that is significantly more than we pay in taxes each year. Would I be able to consider these credits as income for application purposes or no? I have limited debt, and this money does help pay for my expenses throughout the year. Haven't done this before, but figure why not if it's eligible.

Message 1 of 14
13 REPLIES 13
CreditCuriosity
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Net Income question

How I see it no, but I am no expert.  Curious what people smarter than myself might say with how they would justify it as income as it isn't something like disability.

Message 2 of 14
xaximus
Valued Contributor

I dont believe you can use it and file it as income since it's non-taxable. Income is stated as monies such as wages, salaries, bonuses/tips, investments, child support/alimony and few other things.

I.E. - person has reported income of $12k. With 3 dependents, the person's tax liability may only be 1k which they have to pay but because of 3 dependents, they may get back 2k. That 2k is non-taxable and would not be considered taxable income.

(This information is for knowledge only and I am not a tax attorney.)

Scores - All bureaus 770 +
TCL - Est. $410K
Message 3 of 14
wasCB14
Super Contributor

As someone else who has a weird income, my approach has been to only include what I can quickly explain and prove.

I figure if I have to justify my stated income, it won't be to an economist or tax professional with time to think it over. It would probably be to someone in a hurry with 20 other customer files to examine.