cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Barclays refusing to settle on charged off debt

tag
junooon

Barclays refusing to settle on charged off debt

I have a card from Barclays that is 5 years old and is CO'd with about 1.7k owed. After calling Barclays, I have confirmed that they are still owners of the debt and it has not been sent to any CA. During the call, I had asked about settling the debt to which the rep said it is not possible as they do not see any option for my account. Is this normal of barclays? Are they just planning on holding onto the debt even though NY SOL has passed?

This is the last bad remark on my report and I'm trying to get it fixed as soon as possible. As a NY Resident I believe I can use the purge law once I have it paid but it is frustrating that they aren't willing to budge. Any advice on how to proceed with this matter? Thanks

4 REPLIES 4
Cowboys4Life
Frequent Contributor

Re: Barclays refusing to settle on charged off debt

"Any advice on how to proceed with this matter? "

Pay it off or wait it out.  There isn't a magical solution to this or a legal way to force them to settle.  Given the current economic climate wavering on the brink of potential disaster along with consumer default in the billions many creditors are going to take a hard line stance against settling.  Once Barclays looked at your reports and saw you doing clean up they knew you would want this gone too which shifts leverage to their side. (and yes, they do know when consumers are doing credit repair)  Their last arrow in their quiver of weapons is to keep reporting until the bitter end unless you pay in full.

Message 2 of 5
GZG
Valued Contributor

@junooon wrote: