cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Goodwill Letter to Citibank...Suggestions?

tag
bluescale
Regular Contributor

Goodwill Letter to Citibank...Suggestions?

I've put together a first draft of a goodwill email to Citibank.  Since this is my first attempt at putting one together, I'd love to get any feedback.  Is it too long?  I've taken a few (very minor) liberties with the facts.  Other than that, this is pretty much how things went down.

Dear Mr. Linville,

I'm emailing you today in regards to a Credit Card account I opened with Citibank in 2007.  This was one of many cards I've had with Citibank, dating back to 1997, when, as a college student, I received my first credit card.  I've always been very satisfied with Citibank's consumer products and customer service.  I've sent several letters to the General Correspondence mailing address in Sioux Falls, South Dakota, but I have yet to receive a response.  I write to you today to ask for your assistance.

In 2008, like many Americans, my wife and I felt the effects of the global economic crisis.  Unlike many Americans, we had the wherewithal to quickly adjust, tighten our belts, and weather the storm until the economy recovered a bit.  Unfortunately, in August of 2008, my account with Citibank went overbalance and 30 past due.  At the suggestion of your customer service team, we enrolled in a consumer credit counseling  service, Money Management International (MMI).  During our time in credit counseling, we made all of our payments on time or early.  In fact, as our income increased, we were able to make additional payments to our lenders, and finished the program one year ahead of schedule (July of 2012 instead of July of 2013).