Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Judgement Confusion

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Judgement Confusion

Hello all,

New to the boards (and credit repair) .. Want to say thanks for all of the great info here.  However, I am a bit confused about a judgement on my CR.

I have a judgement for a rental agreement that was filed on 11/2005 in Delaware.  I have now been a resident of New York for 3 years.  The judgement is for a small amount($611), but I am skeptical on whether or not to pay it.  Some sources say that paying a judgement will reset the 7 year reporting period.  Others say it is 7 years from the date that it was filed.  I have also heard that if I don't pay it, the judgement can be renewed for another 7 years.  Additionally, I read in a separate post the following information:

New York State Residents Only:

• Satisfied judgments remain 5 years from the date filed.
  • Paid collections remain 5 years from the date of last activity.

Since I am a New York resident, does this apply to me even though the judgement was filed in Delaware? 

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated, as everything else on my credit report I have found loads of information on.

Thanks!

Message 1 of 16
15 REPLIES 15
guiness56
Epic Contributor

Re: Judgement Confusion

Hi and welcome to the forums.

Judgments come off your credit report 7 years from date filed.  It makes no differenc whether it is paid or not.

So, no, paying it will NOT keep it from coming off when you expected.

Yes, the NYC FCRA says paid collections/judgments will be removed after 5 years.  As far as it having to have been filed in NY, I am not sure, but, I do not think so.

As long as you are a current resident of NY is the only stipulation.

Message 2 of 16
Anonymous
Not applicable

guiness,

Thanks for the response..  While waiting for feedback, I decided to call TU to see if they could shed any light on this.