Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Long time Lurker

tag
christinam77
Established Member

Long time Lurker

Hi all! I'm along time lurker and finally coming out of the woodwork.  You all don't know it but this site has been a wealth of knowledge.  My husband & I have been working on rebuilding our credit since late 2011 so we can get ourselves into a home.

I was advised by our lender that we both needed to apply for a Credit Card  (the Fingerhut and Care Credit were Meh... okay but we needed something revolving) so here's where my questions come in.

I applied for a Capital One card on Monday - got the message online I would hear something in 7-10 days. Of course I couldn't wait so I called the backdoor # last night. The only info I was provided was that I was Approved however the account hadn't been established or something of the sort. He couldn't give me my CL but said I would receive my card in the mail once everything was set up.

Now yesterday when I got home, I recieved a pre-approved from First Premier Bank. CL of 750.00 but of course once they take out their yearly fee, monthly fee and some other fee it would be a 650.00 in available credit. Should I get this? Or wait to see what happens with Capital One?

Last, while noseying around last night I came across the "Shopping Card Trick" son of a gun it worked for VS with a 250CL. I didn't take the offer because I wanted to get y'alls thoughts.

Which card/cards are going to be in my best interest? Any recommendations for my husband? He can't apply for CO because that was one of his charge-offs.

Thank you all so much!

My Scores:
Equ: 575 (11.2011) 631 (09.2012) 646 (12.2012) 652 (01.2013)
Exp: 524 (11.2011) 573 (09.2012) 633 (12.2012) 629 (01.2013)
TU: 520 (11.2011) 601 (09.2012) 636 (12.2012) 641 (01.2013)
My Husband:
Equ: 530 (11.2011) 584 (09.2012) 600(12.2012) 599 (01.2013)
Exp: 529 (11.2011) 590 (09.2012) 621 (12.2012) 616 (01.2013)