Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tipping on a bill

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Tipping on a bill

I've seen my friends include their tip in the final amount for the bill and put a zero on the tip line while my other friends put their tip on the tip line and the final amount of the bill. Does it make any difference of how much the wait staff is then reimbursed?

Message 1 of 13
12 REPLIES 12
Imperfectfuture
Super Contributor

Re: Tipping on a bill

Put the tip amount. I had pizza delivery make up their own tip when I just filled in the total amount (first time in years).

Had to fight the establishment to get credit back.
Signature needs updating
Message 2 of 13
LipzyDaizy
Regular Contributor

Writing in the tip and the total is always best.  I work in a restaurant and we're very strict with what we put in as our tip. It must always match what our guest puts in as the total and its always to our guests advantage.  If the guests total is less than the actual written tip, we have to suck it up and deal with it.  So basic math skills are appreciated as well.  LOLSmiley Tongue

Current Scores - EX 658, EQ 713, TU 722
Message 3 of 13
Anonymous
Not applicable

Though I don't see how this is a question related to a credit card forum, I always just write down the total. I'm too lazy to do the math in my head or even pick out the phone to crunch the numbers. I just prefer having an even amount on my bill.
Message 4 of 13
DeadlyPersona
Frequent Contributor

Well, the OP did post this under SmorgasBoard and I don't think it violates the guidelines of what can be posted under that topic.  Smiley Wink

Message 5 of 13
youdontkillmoney
Valued Contributor

@DeadlyPersona wrote:

Well, the OP did post this under SmorgasBoard and I don't think it violates the guidelines of what can be posted under that topic.  Smiley Wink

^^^^^