Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Discover Student Loans

tag
JamesB95
Regular Contributor

Discover Student Loans

I am only applying for $1,000 for spring semester. But, I for some reason can't get Discover to let me without a co-signer, even with my credit history I've been building for 7 months. I was approved for a credit card by them, $500, and, I was approved for my 2nd credit card of $500 by Capital One. I also was approved $600 from Walmart card. And on top of that, I was approved for PayPal Credit $500.

My credit score isn't as hot but its over 600. I paid down my Discover card so it should be a big jump when it updates next (FICO too).

Should I just try another provider? Any tips? I do not know anyone who will co-sign. And, the ones who can have bad credit.

Experian FICO (via PSECU): 623 (as of Dec 6), next update on 01/15

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Discover Student Loans

I have used Discover Student Loans and they tend to be picky (even with a co-signer). My father has excellent credit and was denied as a co-signer with him once. 

Message 2 of 9
JamesB95
Regular Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

I have used Discover Student Loans and they tend to be picky (even with a co-signer). My father has excellent credit and was denied as a co-signer with him once. 

Oh.. I don't understand why they are so pick. I mean, it's not like I can file bankruptcy and drop the student loans. Smiley Sad

They already did their damage to my CR in basically denying me. I might just do monthly payments on my tuition this semester.

Did you end up using someone else?

Message 3 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

I finally got approved with him as a co-signer after trying again about a month later. That loan was for 13,000. I haven't went with any other lenders, but apparently Citizens Bank and Wells Fargo have pretty good student loans that you could look into.

Message 4 of 9
JamesB95
Regular Contributor

@Anonymous wrote: