Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Student Loan PSLF Program

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Student Loan PSLF Program

Hi all, I'm new to myFico.  I'm about to start with an employer where I would qualify for the PSLF (Public Servant Loan Forgiveness) program.  My wife and I are also starting to consider buying a home.  My question is, I know that the program once you are successfully enrolled will remove the loans from your credit report.  Does this removal also boost my credit score with the three different bureaus?

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Shooting-For-800
Senior Contributor

Re: Student Loan PSLF Program

@Anonymous wrote:

Hi all, I'm new to myFico.  I'm about to start with an employer where I would qualify for the PSLF (Public Servant Loan Forgiveness) program.  My wife and I are also starting to consider buying a home.  My question is, I know that the program once you are successfully enrolled will remove the loans from your credit report.  Does this removal also boost my credit score with the three different bureaus?

It does not remove them from your report, it combines them all.

You may actually take a hit since the old loans are closed and new one is opened for the total amount.

Although, I think student loans are mostly passive.

Rebuild started in 2014  -  $100k unsecured credit in 2017  -  $500k unsecured credit in 2024.

DON'T WORK FOR CREDIT CARDS ... MAKE CREDIT CARDS WORK FOR YOU!

Message 2 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi bobbabooie! No, it doesn't actually remove it, but that can actually be a good thing. For credit scoring, o e of the components is mix of types of credit, and a student loan is an installment loan. If you don't have another installment loan like an auto loan, then keeping the student loan on your report will help your scores. 🙂
Message 3 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable