Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Confused by Equifax Score.....😳

tag
jazzyvar84
Regular Contributor

Confused by Equifax Score.....😳

Hello credit warriors! I applied for a credit card through my credit union and was denied. They said my Equifax score was 549. I was shocked because I’ve been working diligently on my credit for over two years now. I applied for financing at a local furniture store today and my Equifax score showed as 696! They approved me for $6,000 worth of furniture with no money down. These inquiries are only two days apart. Why did my credit union see such a low number and the furniture company sees a much higher one? I also got the manager to print it out, so that I can show the credit union on Monday. Can anyone explain this??? Thanks for any help!!!
17 REPLIES 17
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Confused by Equifax Score.....😳

Credit scores can have different models. While the most commonly used is FICO, sometimes lenders use different scoring models which result in different scores. You would need to find out what exact scoring models both these two lenders use, as neither has explicitly stated they used FICO.

Message 2 of 18
jazzyvar84
Regular Contributor

I see something on the furniture paperwork that says Vantage 3.0.
Message 3 of 18
Anonymous
Not applicable

That’s the disconnect. VantageScore 3.0 is the model used by most monitor services like Credit Karma, WalletHub, Credit Sesame, etc, but is NOT the model used by financial institutions and card issuers. They can vary widely since they weight scoring factors differently.

In terms of likelihood of loan or credit card approvals, the score given by the bank is the accurate one. Seems you lucked out with the furniture place using VS3.0.