Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hey guys.. noob here with questions

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hey guys.. noob here with questions

My Equifax score is currently at 593. My Fico is at 639. I have zero late payments, zero collections (had 2 medical bills that never came to me reversed within the last few weeks) I have zero negative currently and I havent for at least 7 years (thats what shows on the reports) My credit utilization is high (90%) since I lost my job in 2014 and had to live off of credit (i know thats terrible but my kids needed to eat) for 6 months. Now that I'm working again, I've found it really difficult to pay down the debt I've accumulated  during those 6 months... but my point is that, since I have never paid anything late... Why is my score so low? I find it hard to believe that if I were to magically pay down my debt, my score would jump to an 800... Is there anyone to contact within the credit bureaus that could explain my specific situation? Zero lates, good DTI... I'm just confused. Thanks in advance!

11 REPLIES 11
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Hey guys.. noob here with questions

DTI doesn't affect Fico.  Utilization does.  If you're ever 90%, FICO considers you maxed out which on some reports has the same effect as a recent late payment.

Message 2 of 12
Gidgetmom
Frequent Contributor

The high utilization is definitely holding your score down.  It may not be the only factor, though.  When you got your FICO score, did it provide you a section showing the things helping and hurting your score?   The reasons listed will lead you to understand what's holding you back.

People can try to answer your questions with a little more info.

Do you have any installment loans?

How  many credit cards?   (Balance/Credit Limit)

How old are your accounts?

Do you have any store cards?

How many Inquiries in the last two years?