Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Credit Remark Lowered Score

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

New Credit Remark Lowered Score

I disputed a paid account which is marked as a "Paid - Charged Off." I received a current credit report in the mail from TransUnion "per my request." I didn't request the report. The account is paid in full!

Today I got an email alert and my "Trans Union" account for the disputed card stated I have a new remark - "Canceled by credit grantor."

My TransUnion score plunged 72 points, now 97 points lower than Equifax. How can a remark, particularly on a paid account, cause this drop! I was getting prepared to apply for a VA mortgage at the beginning of the year but now that dream is gone!!

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: New Credit Remark Lowered Score

I am not an expert in derogs.  Some people here are and they may well be able to help.

In order for them to help you best, here is some stuff they would be good for them to know.

(1)  The name of the creditor.

(2)  Whether the account was revolving (credit card, charge card, etc.) or installment (loan, finance company account, etc.).

According to the credit report...

(3)  What was the date opened?

(4)  What was the date closed?

Do both of those dates seem right to you?

What is your memory of the history of this account?  In your memory, did you ever miss any payments (or be late with any payments) with this account?  If the account was closed, who closed it -- you or the creditor?  Why?  When the account was closed, was the balance $0?

At sounds like at some point you disputed something about this account with TU.  When did you submit that dispute?  What exacty did you say in your dispute was incorrect about the way the account was reading on your TU report?

How exactly did the account read before the dispute and how exactly does it read now?

Message 2 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable