Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question on utilization

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Question on utilization

Hello, everyone-

I have been working on my credit for about 6 months now and I was finally starting to see the results I wanted, I am looking to buy my first home sometime in May of 2019 so I am getting ready for that. I did, however, run into some issues recently and wasn't able to pay my cards how I normally would and I took a FICO 8 hit of 45 points. It is because 3 of my cards went from around 1% utilization to a lot more. One is at 98%, another is at 79% and the last is 30%. Recently I was approved for the Discover it card with a limit that would more than cover these balances. The total balance on all cards is $3,048 and the it card has a CL of $9,500, which is not showing on my reports yet, I just got the card today. If I transfer all the balances to the Discover card and then pay off enough to get the it card down to 28% usage should I see most if not all of those points return? I have worked really hard at getting my FICO score up and it is really disheartening to see such a big drop.

Thanks for your help!

9 REPLIES 9
Adkins
Legendary Contributor

Re: Question on utilization

You won't recover all the points but I think you'll get a good part of them back. You got those points at lower utilization, which you won't be at anymore. (But it's much better than having the cards maxxed out!)

Last HP 08-07-2023

Message 2 of 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

I'm sorry, I believe I posted this in the wrong area. I will move it to the right one. I don't know how to remove or if I even can, so if a mod could remove that would be great. 

Message 3 of 10
longtimelurker
Epic Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

Hello, everyone-