Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trying to move in the right direction for home ownership

tag
bltrrt
Established Member

Trying to move in the right direction for home ownership

I really would like to purchase a home in 3 years around my 29th birthday . I graduated and I am working on improving the credit. I have about Ask in student debt. I think I am going to stop aping for anything. This past year my car died so I had to get one and I got a few new accounts. While aping I got a score from cit of 683 from exp. and a 718 from chase with equ. I am not sure what would be a good score to use for getting a mortgage but I do know that when I was 18/19 I got credit cards that dropped my scores near 550 so I think these scores are great compared to that. I really want the chase Disney visa but I had chase in college and it did not end well and they deny me for everything. The problem was I went on bedrest for 5 months when I was pregnant with my son and I missed a few payments while I was out of work and they closed my accounts. So I figured I would leave chase alone until I one day purchase a home. What should I do next besides save and pay off debt to improve my score. I read on my report that I do not have enough prime bank card accounts and lots of inquiries, and a charge off where negatively affecting my score. I have no idea what any of that means. I know I have to wait for the inq. to fall off 2 years. Im pretty sure I cannot do anything about a charge off. I put my family phone bill in my name and we switched to another company, I did not realize I had a balance but the company called and said if I paid so much I would not have to pay the full amount and it would not affect my credit. I am assuming that was the charge off and it did in fact affect my credit? Can someone explain a charge off and what is a prime card. I currently have the following cards. Do they mean non store cards by prime bank cards?

Jcpenny store

lowes store