Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AmEx Platinum Question?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

AmEx Platinum Question?

Ok I'm going to use my Card to book a hotel in Vegas for when I get home, I want to go to Vegas in Auguest (I know it's hot) My question is I'm going to book the reservation with my Platinum card but knowing this is a Charge card and not a Credit card does it work the same way as in will it hold a reservation for 3 months out?  I only ask becasue I've never used it before.  I would call and just use the Concierge service but like I said I'm in Afhanistan and I can't call so next best thing is ask you guys!

Also I ordered an iPad for my Son's graduation gift he has been bugging me for one forever now.  I ordered it thought the AmEx store then the apple store to get the x6 rewards points.  Does anyone know when those points usually show up?  It's still a pending charge on my card will the points pop up when it goes through or like each billing cycle? 

Thanks guys!!

Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
isoldmyatlas
Frequent Contributor

Re: AmEx Platinum Question?

Hi there! I work in a hotel and can tell you that yes, it will hold the reservation for you.  We have folks book with their Platinum and Centurion cards all of the time with no problem whatsoever.

The only way your card will be CHARGED at the time of making the reservation is if you do an Advance Purchase deal where you you book far enough in advance that you receive a certain percentage off the Best Available Rate (these generally require a deposit at the time of the booking and usually have special cancellation policies).

Have fun in Vegas and stay cool by the pool!

TU: 793 (6/13/17) | EQ: 787 (7/17/17) | EX: 788 (6/15/18)