Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Another PIF Question

tag
chrissychris
New Visitor

Another PIF Question

Background:  I'm new to the 'cards with no balance' thing.  In the last 2 years, I've paid down much of my debt, and finally used a personal loan to pay off the remaining balance on my credit cards. I know from experience that when you stop using a card, the issuer may close it, so I try to use them all at least every few months (though I'm having trouble using the BestBuy card as I've changed my ways and don't buy crap I don't need anymore), and I tend to pay the charges off within 1-2 weeks of making them.  In that time, I've brought my scores from 6-650ish to 800ish.  I would like to get my last below 800 score up to 800+.

Nutshell:  I'd like to know when to pay my cards to 1- avoid paying interest an 2- still receive the benefit of utlizing and paying the credit (to benefit my credit score). I carry no balances.

For one of my cards, here's the scenario.

May 26-30, I charged $1000.

I see no payment due for June 5

I assume the minimum payment on my new $1000 balance will be due JULY 5th. If I pay the entire $1000 by July 5, do I avoid interest? Does soemthign positive get reported to the bureaus?

• Current Balance:$1,003.85
  • Available Credit:$3,096.15
  • Last Statement Balance:$0.00
  • Last Statement Date:05/08/2014
  • Minimum Payment Due:$0.00
  • Payment Due Date:06/05/2014

I know this topic has been covered, and I've read a few threads, but I want to be sure I'm understanding this correctly.

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
ztnjpv
Established Contributor

Re: Another PIF Question

hard to follow what you're asking.

I'll say this:

-Whatever your statement balance is is what gets reported. 

-If you PIF before your statement cuts, you get a zero utilization. 

-you should try to report more than 0% for scoring benefits

Does that work? If not, what specifically are you asking?