Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What do I do from here?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

What do I do from here?

I'm new to credit. 19 year old, college student. I started with a BoA secured card with a $300 CL in July 2013, which graduated to a BoA Platinum Plus Visa in January 2014 but no CLI. Somewhere along the way, I applied for a couple other credit cards but was denied immediately. In May of 2014, my husband and I bought an SUV, but due to me having a short credit history and him having VERY BAD credit, we both got 11 hard inquaries on our credit reports before finally getting approved. After getting the SUV at 7% interest, and seeing that my credit score was now nearing 700, I applied for an Amazon store card and was instantly approved for $700, and the Amazon Visa and was instantly approved for $1,000. Then, my husband was pre-approved for a Capital One Platinum Mastercard, and added me as an authorized user. So in total, my Experian credit report has 7 hard inquaries, Equifax has 6 hard inquaries, and Transunion has 17 hard inquaries. I have never missed a payment, have low utilzation around 15-20%, and always pay my balance in full each month. CreditKarma is reporting my credit score as 659 currently. How can I improve my credit score? We are looking to buy a house in the near future.

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
BluePoodle
Valued Contributor

Re: What do I do from here?

@Anonymous wrote: