Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Collections question

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Collections question

As i read trying to learn what credit scoring is all about it makes my head hurt. But im trying to buy my first house and get my credit scores up. my question is i have 3 things in Collections all from medical bills CAPIO PARTNERS LLC- 1,259.00 , 100.00 , 100.00. people have said paying them will hurt your score more vs leaving them alone. also can it be removed or not. thanks for any help as i am new at this

P.S. What is the best way to get/guess what your experian fico score is? as i cant get it here

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
Booner72
Senior Contributor

Re: Collections question

HI there - Yes the can be removed IF you can get a PFD (which means pay for delete).  You write to the CA, saying you will pay in full on this date if they agree to your terms by writing back on their letterhead that yes they will accept the money and delete the account.  Don't call - and don't send money unless they agree to the PFD, in writing.  Then make sure you save those letters for a long long time (just in case).

Good Luck! 

STARTING: 11/24/10 EQ-584 EXP-648 TU04-595
CLOSED FIRST HOME 8/19/11 EQ-630 EXP-691 TU04-653
CURRENT: EQ-701 EXP-??? TU08-720
Message 2 of 10
babbles
Established Contributor

Along the same lines from my recently posted:

I

My credit has been perfect for about 15 yrs now but just received a collection frm a health care provider courtesy of Tricare not paying the bill which was $96.55.  When I got the notice from BC Services out of Longmont, CO about 30 days ago, I right away paid $20 while I continued to persue Tricare for the payment.  They reported through Experian which my score had been about 720 or so.

Questions are:

1.  how much will this affect my score till I pay it off, which will be tomorrow?  Bal ($76).