Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What happens if I don't ever use a CC?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

What happens if I don't ever use a CC?

I am still learning about credit and have a quick question. What will happen if I don't use a card at all? I have one card that I use all the time and another that I activated, paid the yearly fee and now it is just sitting in a desk drawer. Will the card be cancelled if I don't use it? Will my credit score go down if it always reports a zero balance each month?

Thanks for your help
Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: What happens if I don't ever use a CC?

In my experience, when I never used one of my cards the status was never updated. Alternatively, when I used it for purchases or carried even a small balance then they would report it. I suggest just using the card for one of your usual monthly expenses and pay in full before statement cycles to avoid interest payment...
Message 2 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

I'd put something small on that one card you paid an AF for and are not using each month. Something like a recurring $7.00 Netflix bill for example. Make sure you have 3 CR's, be it secured or standard, doesn't matter. Make sure to carry-over a balance on 1 of the 3 cards, making sure the balance is less than 10% UTI, if possible. Pay the other 2 cards off in full so they show a zero balance. If you never use a card, depending upon the issuer, they might close your account. It just depends on the card issuer. I'd try charging something on it, even if it's every few months. If you have a high CL, and don't use the card, the issuer may reduce your CL figuring there's no need for you to have it as your not using it, thus not proving to them you can pay it.
Message 3 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous wrote: