Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Utilization question

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Utilization question

Good Day!

I have been stalking this board for months now, and can't find the answer to a question on my mind..

I'm only 25 and have definately messed up my credit in the past, but I can do better in the future for when it really counts. I have a Best Buy rewards Master Card that I charge everything from food and gas to electronics and Christmas presents on. Unfortunately I only a limit of $650. As soon as the statement comes out, that last month's balance is paid in full. But I still need to eat so, I charge the rest.

For example. Last month I spent $300 and in the mean time charged $200 more. I'd pay $300 come paycheck time. Like an earlier post, it also keeps me from paying interest while accruing my Best Buy points.

So the question: Does utilization really mean how much of my credit I use ($500/$650) or how much of the balanced is carried ($0/$630). It'd be really annoying if it's the former because then I'll have to charge only 10% then pretty much make a payment everyday. Thanks much for your help!!

Dinielle

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Peach8321
Frequent Contributor

Re: Utilization question

When your statement cuts, there will be a "new balance" number...that number is your utilization.  So if your statement says your new balance is $300...then you have a utilization of 46%...quite high.  Sadly, they don't know that we never pay interest, they only know what your balance is on your statement. 

What are your FICO scores?  Perhaps someone here can suggest another card you can add to the mix.  By doing this, you can help decrease your utilization (for example: get a card with a $300 limit...very low but that will decrease a $300 balance to 31% utilization since you'd have 300+650 total credit).

I know that's not positive to hear, but that's how it works...

Current Scores: EQ: 740 (2/7/13)

Starting Score: 799
Current Score: 762
Goal Score: 800