cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Approval Odds

tag
Damianc54

Approval Odds

Hello, let me start with an overview. I am 19 years old, I have 1 year of tax returns, I am self employed and made just over $100k in 2020. I am a college student and all my college is paid for via scholarships, so my monthly expenses are under $1k. My credit score ranges from high 680-720, My history consists of 3 credit cards, $7500 in total limits, never missed a payment and utilization is under 5%. I only have 1 year of history though. I want a new car or 2/3 year old car. Something like an m440, AMG c63, Audi RS5, something like that. I have a 10-12k trade in and I can put like another 5-10k down if needed. I want to finance, not lease. Will I get approved? I can more than afford the monthly payments just wondering if they'll approve me with a year of history and only year of proof of income (before I was 18 my parents filed my income under their names) 

thank you!!

10 REPLIES 10
Brian_Earl_Spilner
Credit Mentor

Re: Approval Odds

Anyone can get financed for anything. Question is if you'll be happy with the terms.

Message 2 of 11
Damianc54

Do you think i can get a decent rate? like 7% or less

Message 3 of 11
nycsimone
Regular Contributor

You're in college...why do you want to pi$$ away so much money on a $60-80k car? I get it that it's all about status in college but why not get a most affordable car and put the rest of the cash to work?

If you invest $20,000 today at 19, earn an average of 7% yearly interest...by the time you're 65 you'll have 1/2 a million sitting in the bank.

The reality is that if you're willing to put down 30% on a car you can get almost anyone to finance it.

Message 4 of 11
Loquat
Moderator Emeritus