Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with Auto Loan

tag
failur3byh3art
Valued Member

Help with Auto Loan

Ok so I recently got my license. I'm 29 years of age and this is my first time buying a used car, or rather a car in general. I've been driving around here and there for the past 4 years with on and off experience. Now, I make 26k a year with my current job and go to school full time. I'm recently recovering from debt and have a 596 fico score (480 Last October). My credit ratio usage is around 3% and I do not keep high balances. I'm pretty responsible as I have to be in order to rebuild successfully. Now, I went through a prequalify with Capital one because I've been with them for over a year now with my credit cards and they gave me an offer of 8% on a 20k car. Mileage on the car is 13k and it's a Toyota Camry V6 with no bad background or issues. I know that 8% for some of you is and can be considered high but that reflects off my current credit scores. A family member told me 8% for my current score is good and it could have been worse as a ~600 score can range from 10-15%. If I have a co-signer with excellent credit sign for me as well what would my numbers look like? I know it's different for everyone and mileage will vary, but what would the possibility be? Also, putting down about 15-20% with the current interest rate above. Do you consider this a good deal? Should I apply to penfed or another CU?

Oh one more thing to add is that my monthly payments were estimated to be 384$

Things to note:
I don't pay rent where I live (family is nice enough to let me live here rent free while I focus on school)

I don't have major bills to pay

No current loans, including student loans.

Covered by financial aid for a long while.

1 REPLY 1
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Help with Auto Loan

8% is not terrible especially if the length of the loan is 6 or 7 years.