Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Leasing Model 3 from Tesla

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Leasing Model 3 from Tesla

Leasing a model 3 from Tesla. In short: is the APR/money factor negotiable, or can I use my credit union to offer me a better rate? This is my first time leasing a car, so don't know how it works.

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
ridgebackpilot
Established Contributor

Re: Leasing Model 3 from Tesla

Leasing from Tesla is a far worse idea than leasing from other manufacturers. Why? The lease terms are non-negotiable, you can only deal with Tesla Finance, and you don't have the option of buying the vehicle at the end of the lease. Don't walk away, run! If you want a Tesla, buy it and finance the purchase.

Message 2 of 4
nykos5000
Regular Contributor

I concur with the above post. Tesla's are horrible to lease. Audi is offering far superior leases on their E-Tron if you're able to deal with the lower range and are OK with an SUV. Most dealers do mark up the captive lender's base lease rate by a few points and you can negotiate down to the base rate if you find a good sales person. Check Edmunds lease forums for the base rate. 

BK7 08/2016 | DC 12/2016

Message 3 of 4
xenon3030
Valued Contributor

A few weeks ago, I was planning to go for Tesla Y (Autopilot) or Tesla 3 and I wanted to lease it. It might be better to think twice before going for it. Here are my thoughts and I decided to go for Kia EV instead of Tesla:

• The Tesla EVs look much much better than the other car manufacturers (e.g. Autopilot option). If I want to score the EVs, I score Tesla 10 and the other EVs start from 7.
  • Tesla delivery time is currently ~2-3 weeks (depending on location) and typically, it cannot be purchased via dealers. If you plan to buy from other manufacturers, you can buy almost at the same day, using a possible free delivery to home option.