cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Where to get private party loan financing?

tag
Funk-O-Meter
Contributor

Where to get private party loan financing?

Guy in town has several 06' to 08' Prius's for sale he bought at auction with his dealer liscense. I'm thinking about buying one but don't know where to get the best financing. I'm a suntrust customer and they have some decent rates right now. I read on Chase site they do private party loans. I'm also thininking about joining a credit union like Penfed. And how about the popular road 2 drive?

Who offers competative private party loans?

What are their stipulations on miladge and age?

I've been rebuilding for a couple years and my score is probably 700-740 but I haven't bought a score lately. Haven't had an auto loan in 15 years. 

EDIT: I'm doing some digging around and found Chase will do private party loans for a car 5 years or newer and with 75k or less miles. Up 2 Drive doesn't do private party loans. Wells Fargo does private party loans but I can't find any milage or age info on their site. Same for Suntrust. BofA can go get stuffed I'm not using them.

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Revelate
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Where to get private party loan financing?

Chase or credit unions from what I've heard.  Not sure on Wells.

I've actually been sort of surprised at how many banks offer this loan type, I'm sure there are more than the above list out there... but literally everything will depend on the lender and you're likely going to have to do your own legwork.  Think I've seen all of one or maybe two private party requests here in the past six months, it just isn't common on these forums seemingly.

        
Message 2 of 6
nuggets321
Frequent Contributor