Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CC questions - order of app/UTIL/CL

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

CC questions - order of app/UTIL/CL

Hello folks, I'm still a newb so if you can help me puzzle this out, I'd appreciate it :-)

When applying fresh (for me post-bk, but could be anyone with no cards) is it better to get all 3 that you need right away? Or get 1-2, wait 1yr until the INQ doesn't matter, then get the other 1-2? (I don't intend to have more than 3.)

I'm not checking any more prequals until my discharge, but I'm planning on trying for cap1, disco and "if I'm feeling lucky," BoA (burned). I'm still gonna research some backup plans for that last one if the prequal site doesn't come thru after discharge. Any particular order that's better (like, is one of them more inq sensitive than others)?

I know this one is more of a theoretical question for now, since I am basically going to be taking what I can get post-dc.

For util purposes, and really for my own financial safety, I am trying to figure out how to calculate where to draw the line re: total available CL across all TL's.

I realize that just because you have it doesn't mean you have to use it. And I've been very disciplined wrt being on a "cash diet" for nearly the past year, even when my credit cards were available to me (obviously since June they have not been), so I'm pretty confident in myself. However, I want to create failsafes for myself - you know? I don't want to get more credit than I actually need.

Is there a calculator out there that will do this for you? Figure out how much you can actually pay, based on your inc/exp?

I intend to stay on the cash diet pretty much forever, and only use cards maybe set up each with one autopay for a utility. That way it gets utilized, I pay it off after statement hits, and util stays relatively low, and I'm not living beyond my means. I mean it on the cash diet. I am NOT getting in this mess again.