Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Deleted bankruptcy

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Deleted bankruptcy

Thanks, Guardian!!  Your information was very helpful!!  I have a BK about 2 come off of my report!!  I was getting scared!!  I have been working hard at re-establishing my credit since I filed in 2002.  I agree.......it depends on your situation!!  It doesn't make sense for your score to drop!!!  Every time something negative comes off of my credit either via age of the account or false information, my score goes up!!!  I also agree about the CCs.  It is not wise to cancel them once you have paid them off.  KEEP THEM OPEN!!  If you have a zero balance, that helps your score as far as your "debt to limit" ratio is concerned!! (I hope I used that term correctly)!!!
Message 51 of 105
Anonymous
Not applicable

A key to improving your credit after any negative event is to make sure you have good, open accounts (with low balances if they are revolving accounts).

Remember, your credit score is a balance between the good and bad. Sometimes you can't do anything about the bad, but you can counteract and dilute it with good credit.
Message 52 of 105
Onielynn

Hi, I'm very new to the forum but three of my family members filed bankruptcy.  All have recovered nicely and the their credit scores went sky high.  They have been extremely careful about rebuilding their credit after bankruptcy. 

I have too many years to go but I've been rebuilding and even have a Chase card limit 5000 and the interest rate is low.
Message 53 of 105
Anonymous
Not applicable

after you file BK it stays on your reports for 7-10 years. When the 7 or 10 year term expires, the BK is deleted....at that time....your score IMPROVES, or goes up!
Message 54 of 105
TangMeister
Frequent Contributor